We are delighted to announce the composition of the Jury panel for the Ibero-American Arts Award. They will be judging from among the 30 shortlisted artworks to select this year’s winners.

The Jury consists of 5 high-profile personalities from the Arts world, who combine expertise from the areas of curating, collecting and practicing art, as well as academia and cultural journalism. They are:

  • Catherine Petitgas – Lecturer and writer on the subject of modern and contemporary art, specialising in Latin America. She is also a renowned collector, patron and benefactor of institutions in the UK and France, serving as a trustee at both the Whitechapel Gallery in London and the Gasworks/Triangle Network.
  • José María Cano – World-famous Spanish visual artist, perhaps best known for his ongoing series of encaustic paintings, The Wall Street 100. He was formerly a member and the principal composer for Spanish pop-rock band “Mecano”. He has recently shown at The Riflemaker Gallery (London), DOX Centre of Contemporary Art (Prague), Momat (The National Museum of Modern Arts, Tokyo), and CAFA Art Museum (Beijing).
  • Marko Daniel – Convenor of Public Programmes at Tate Modern and Tate Britain, curator of exhibitions at the Tate and Fundació Joan Miró, and Vice-Chair of the London Consortium, a unique collaboration between a number of prestigious arts and humanities institutions that offers interdisciplinary research programmes in the humanities.
  • Robert Bound – Culture Editor of the global affairs magazine Monocle. He hosts a weekly radio show which offers an international look at the latest in media, film, music and the arts, frequently reviewing new art galleries and exhibitions, as well as inviting experts to explore and discuss new curating styles and art forms.
  • Nayia Yiakoumaki – Curator of the Whitechapel Gallery since 2005. Co-leading the Athens Biennale, as Director of Research and International Networks , Naya has lectured extensively in universities in the UK and abroad. Exhibitions and commissions:  John Latham: Anarchive (2010), This is Tomorrow (2011), Rothko in Britain (2012), Black Eyes & Lemonade: Curating Popular Art (2013), and most recently Intellectual Barbarians: The Kibbo Kift Kindred (2015-2016), Imprint 93 (2016) and Guerrilla Girls: Is it even worse in Europe? (2016-2017).

All five members of our esteemed Jury eagerly look forward to seeing how participating artists will respond to the theme ‘Ibero-American Utopias’, and to judging the shortlisted artworks, which are on display at the Embassy of Brazil in London from 16 November to 8 December 2016.