Prizewinners Announcement

7 December 2016 – This Wednesday, a brunch reception and Closing Ceremony were held to celebrate the end of the 2016 exhibition of the Ibero-American Arts Award. We are pleased to include a slideshow of photos from the event, by Noela Roibas, below.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We were honoured by the presence of our esteemed Jury members, as well as Ambassadors from Ibero-American nations and, most importantly, our finalists. José María Cano, the world-renowned visual artist and formerly the principal composer for Spanish pop-rock band Mecano, delivered the verdict on behalf of the Jury. The prizewinners are as follows:

Jury’s First Prize:  Ting Tong Chang – ‘P’eng’s Journey to the Southern Darkness’

Jury’s Second Prize:  Gwil Hughes – ‘Family Sized Packet’

Jury’s Special Commendation:  Marcelo Deguchi da Silva – ‘Worldviews’

People’s Choice Award:  Omar Castañeda – ‘Beyond the Myth’

We would like to thank all of our finalists for making our inaugural year such a memorable and fruitful one, and in particular we would like to congratulate our prizewinners on their successes.

We are looking forward with great excitement to hosting this year’s First Prize winner, Ting Tong Chang, for a solo exhibition here at the Embassy of Brazil in the near future.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s